501(c)3 status
501(c)3 status

Ash-Shaheed Scholarship Fund began as a vision of Carolyn Yasmin Saleem who experienced the struggles of putting a child through college, since her daughter would be the first college graduate from her family. Carolyn wanted to help families in her community afford to send their children to college. She formed a committee of parents and grandparents to achieve this mission to help rising college students. The ASSF committee called on their family, friends, neighbors, and co-workers for personal donations. ASSF began awarding scholarships within the Charlotte community in 2000 when 2 scholarships were given.  From 2000-2020, over 135 scholarships have been awarded totaling over $265,000.

We are a Non-profit 501(c)3  organization.

ASSF Staff

Executive Director – Carolyn Yasmin Saleem is the small business owner of Yasmin’s Pies and Catering.  She is a native of North Carolina.  She is the founder of Ash Shaheed Scholarship Fund.

Administrative Assistant – Hafeeza Muhammad has been a supporter of the ASSF for the past 13 years.  Hafeeza attended the Universisty of Pennsylvania , Wharton School.  She currently lives in Philadelphia Pa.

This is her 14 th year serving as administrative assistant.

Donor Relations Coordinator – Joi Kennedy is a flight attendant for American Airlines and an Entrepreneur, Owner of Sugar and Spice Party Bus.  She attended Virginia State University and is a native of Charlotte.  Joi has worked with the ASSF for 20 years


Financial Secretary - Alana Davenport

Has been the Regional Office Generalist at Scholastic Book Fairs of Charlotte, NC for 17 years.  Alana attended Livingstone College and has been living in Charlotte for 20 years.  This is her 15th year serving as financial secretary.

Luncheon February 2019 Head Table MC, Guest Speaker, Keynote Speaker and Representative Class 2019
2019 ASSF Recipients & Strong End School
Class of 2018



Board Members are Karim Muhammad, Chairperson; Wahab Arzeyz,

Lawrence Muhammad, Charles Malik    Executive Director  Yasmin Saleem 

Staff Members are Alana Davenport, Joi Kennedy, Hafeeza Muhammad 


Not present in picture (Wahab Arzeys,Lawrence Muhammad, Charles Malik)

Class of 2017


This check represents the final awards from ASSF

Print Print | Sitemap
© Ash-Shaheed Scholarship Fund - 1&1 IONOS MyWebsite